Mistreat Me Baby

Am watching Hit Me Baby One More Time, which may not something that I’d watch… but I actually like the concept at base. It takes once-hit musicians and gives them a chance to perform two songs (one of their hits, and one current hit from someone else), put forth as a competition for charity money. Don’t really care for art as a competition, but the idea of giving folks another chance at exposure is a good idea. In many forms of art, particularly music, we are quick to set aside and forget those who once entertained us, or simply to view them as quaint oldies acts.

However, the actual handling of it leaves much to be desired. The camerawork involves a lot of fancy fly-ins, a lousy way to showcase a performance. The stuff seems badly miked to me. The performance of their hits is all kind of by-the-numbers. There’s been no looking at the reality of the bands, of how many people beside the lead singer actually date back to their hit days (there are bands out there for whom the answer is “none”.)

Plus, it’s all bouncy-and-loud forms of pop. I think that the quieter, more intimate stuff in an a more intimate setting would be more interesting.

Still, every artist gets exposure, reminds people they’re still around. They all win, and that’s good.


Sorry if I’m falling behind posting, responding to email, and such. Life was already quite busy when something else got thrown in. About a week-and-a-half ago, I got involved with answering some questions about the Amazon.com image server, and did a little bit of exploring about how to do interesting things with the images. I reworked the posts that I’d written for that conversation and posted them here, under the title “Abusing Amazon Images”. A couple of folks involved in the conversation (which was on a comics retailer board) posted links on their blog.

On Wednesday, it was the most bookmarked item among the geekarati, accoring to del.icio.us, a site which tracks such things. Around 60,000 people have visited the page, and it’s been blogged in all kind of odd corners of the Web, in various different languages and by people with various different fascinations. Some folks seem to think that I’ve struck some kind of hacker blow against the Man, while others think I’ve demonstrated just how strong Amazon’s underlying code is.

Everyone seems to think that I spent far more time on it than I actually did.

Published in: on June 3, 2005 at 1:42 am  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://natstv.wordpress.com/2005/06/03/mistreat-me-baby/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Don’t normally watch “reality” shows myself and didn’t bother to check out HMBOMT, but I too was at least a little intrigued by the concept.

    One recent “reality” show I actually did check out a little bit of (by channel surfing accident last night) was Beauty and the Geek (“from the mind of Ashton Kutcher?”). Perhaps I was just distracted by the pretty girls in bikinis or maybe it’s my kinship with geekdom, but it actually seemed like it might almost be watchable in a “fluff” kind of way. But then I didn’t, mostly just because of my “no reality shows” policy.

  2. I put standard game shows and talent competitions into a different category from “reality” shows, which claim to be capturing some sort of slice of reality but are actually manufacturing it (although I tend to lump any degradation shows, such as Fear Factor, in with the reality shows for practical purposes.
    Beauty and the Geek is a show that I’m not willing to watch, but would have been willing to appear on…

  3. This is a test message. Ignore it.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

