I want Insider trading cards

The Insider is a new crime drama that tries to take its tone from beyond TV; the initial episode seemed to fall somewhere between Silence of the Lambs and Se7en in an attempt at a relentlessly dark texture. The focus is an FBI team focused on mass murderers, always a chipper subject, and they are setting up for some intrigue within the group, in addition to the murderous monster of the episode.

The team behind this has some good links for going beyond the episode-by-episode concerns; both Tim Minear and Jane Espenson from Joss Whedon’s Mutant Enemy productions (plus one member of the Firefly cast in front of the camera). But at least as of the first one, there’s no visible indication of any fun (intended or otherwise) to be had in this series, and fun underlies even the darkest stuff in the Mutant Enemy work.

I’ll still watch some more of this; at the very least, I’ll try catching the episode that features the comic book art of my pal (and occasional collaborator) Tone Rodriguez.

Meanwhile, the summer season is quite dull. At least next week we start getting new episodes of Rescue Me. But in general, the things that I thought I might catch in reruns aren’t around any more, and there’s not much to comment on. Let’s see…. I was surprised to see what a traditional awards-show monologue came out of Jimmy Fallon at the MTV Video Awards. It was nice to see that Ally Sheedy is still a spirited-looking pretty gal. Watched an episode of Beauty and the Geek (the Lovely Lara’s choice; she was curious). Surprised me a little to see that it’s game show rather than dating show. Not particularly a compelling one, despite the presence of some rather pretty ladies. Still, while it’s not a show I’ll likely watch again, it’s one that I wouldn’t mind having been on back in the day (although I suspect that by the time I was of age, I was too romantically experienced to quite qualify as a geek for their needs, although believe me I was quite a geek.) (And still am, mind you. Not trying to distance myself form the geekhood.)

At the moment, I’m watching the Breaking News on CNN about the Jackson verdict. For the past hour, the breaking news has been that there will be news. That’s really what I’m watching for; to laugh at a network trying to cover nothing happening. “They’re driving in their SUVs to the courthouse!” Can’t say that I care about the verdict one way or another. So as they announce the jury is seated, I’ll post this.

Published in: on June 13, 2005 at 4:04 pm  Comments (10)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://natstv.wordpress.com/2005/06/13/i-want-insider-trading-cards/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Yeah, I was amused/annoyed at the special report of “We have a verdict and even though we don’t know what it is or when we’ll know, well, we’ll sit here and drone on and on about nothing just to kill time.”

    So my question about the verdict is this: Why did they have to go through the long drawn out process of reading each and every count charged and the associated verdict?

    I mean, if the verdict is either guilty or not on ALL charges, why not just cut to the chase and simply say guilty/not guilty on all charges. Nooooo, we gotta hear each and every charge and the corresponding verdict. I could understand it if there were mixed verdicts on the different counts, but not with all verdicts the same. I guess I’m just a Cliffs notes kinda guy. :-)

  2. Sorry, don’t mean to go all knit-picky on ya, but the show is The Inside, no R on the end. Is there a show called The Insider? Or was it a movie? For some reason that title sounds vaguely familiar.

  3. You’re right, my brain is fried.

    There is both a current TV show called The Insider (an entertainment news show) and a relatively recent movie of that name (Russell Crowe takes on big tobacco.)

  4. I’m assuming tonight’s episode was the one…

    “…at the very least, I’ll try catching the episode that features the comic book art of my pal (and occasional collaborator) Tone Rodriguez.”

  5. Yeah, that was the episode. Finally got to watch it today. Not exactly accurate handling of comics in terms of eras. And we certainly didn’t get to see a lot of Tone’s work, alas.

  6. I’ve been wondering what’s happened to FOX’s The Inside. It’s been listed in my local paper’s last two weekly TV listings, but then when the Wednesday daily paper comes, they’ve been showing So You Think You Can Dance listed—which I have absolutely no interest in. TitanTV doesn’t list The Inside for next week either.

    It’s not that I thought it was a great show or anything, but it was at least entertaining enough (and up my alley enough) that I felt it was worth tuning in just for some new episodes of something.

    So I just Google News’d it and came across this iFMagazine item which says (and I’m experimenting with the blockquote feature here, hope I get it right):

    It’s one of the summer’s most riveting and fascinating shows, but amidst the reality TV glut, THE INSIDE (on the Fox network) has had a tough time finding a sizable audience to ensure its survival.

    Although six episodes remain of the series which follows newbie FBI agent Rebecca Locke (Rachel Nichols) who is assigned to L.A.’s violent crimes unit headed by Virgil Webster aka “Web” (Peter Coyote), chances are the remaining episodes will go unaired until the show makes its inevitable debut on DVD (the episode “Aidan” was supposed to air tonight, but was once again pre-empted by Fox’s SO YOU THINK YOU CAN DANCE show).

    Last week, co-creator Tim Minear spoke with iF about the demise of the show. This week he discusses the evolution of the series, what to expect from the unaired episodes and the potential dangers in shuffling episodes orders.

    It then goes on with the Tim Minear interview, but that answers my question anyway. I doubt very much I’ll bother with the DVD package to see the unaired episodes. It wasn’t that good.

  7. So I got the blockquote basically right, I guess, but screwed up the bold HTML (probably forgot a slash on the first HTML closing tag for the bold type). Sorry. But you get the gist.

  8. I also forgot to include the iFMagzine link apparently, so though I hate to be repetitive and redundant :-) let’s give it another go and cross our fingers, shall we?…

    I’ve been wondering what’s happened to FOX’s The Inside. It’s been listed in my local paper’s last two weekly TV listings, but then when the Wednesday daily paper comes, they’ve been listing So You Think You Can Dance—which I have absolutely no interest in. TitanTV doesn’t list The Inside for next week either.

    It’s not that I thought it was a great show or anything, but it was at least entertaining enough (and up my alley enough) that I felt it was worth tuning in just for some new episodes of something.

    So I just Google News’d it and came across this iFMagazine item which says:

    It’s one of the summer’s most riveting and fascinating shows, but amidst the reality TV glut, THE INSIDE (on the Fox network) has had a tough time finding a sizable audience to ensure its survival.

    Although six episodes remain of the series which follows newbie FBI agent Rebecca Locke (Rachel Nichols) who is assigned to L.A.’s violent crimes unit headed by Virgil Webster aka “Web” (Peter Coyote), chances are the remaining episodes will go unaired until the show makes its inevitable debut on DVD (the episode “Aidan” was supposed to air tonight, but was once again pre-empted by Fox’s SO YOU THINK YOU CAN DANCE show).

    Last week, co-creator Tim Minear spoke with iF about the demise of the show. This week he discusses the evolution of the series, what to expect from the unaired episodes and the potential dangers in shuffling episodes orders.

    It then goes on with the Tim Minear interview, but that much answers my question anyway. I doubt very much I’ll bother with the DVD package to see the unaired episodes. It wasn’t that good.

    ALIAS SPOILER ALERT: I also noticed elsewhere (and elsewhen, last week) that Rachel Nichols, the lead in The Inside is apparently going to be in Alias next season, possibly as Sydney’s rumored protege/stand-in since Jennifer Garner’s going to be pregnant at the time they film.

  9. That iFMagazine Tim Minear interview link was part 2 of a 3-parter. Here’s the link to Part 1 from 7/27. Presumably part 3 will be available online in another week.

    I thought both parts were interesting in giving a behind-the-scenes look at certain circumstances and thinking behind the show and specifically Tim Minear’s involvement and goals for the show.

  10. Honestly, after the disappointing first four seasons of Angel, plus Wonderfalls and The Inside, I simply think that I’m not on Minear’s wavelength. The stories he wants to tell may hit some critics well, but they really don’t ring with me.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

