Doin' it animal style

It is fairly well documented that the west coast burger chain In’n’Out has a secret menu, a bunch of possible orders that are not on their notoriously short menu (although using only the ingredients from items on that menu) which one can order. Last night, for the first time I left the safety of the known and advertised and went on a food walkabout; I ordered “Fries, Animal Style”.
Now, lest anyone think that this is just something I made up, I’ve got the receipt with “FF Animal Style” printed right on it – they have register entries for these non-standard items, even beyond the ones they admit to on their website. In this case, for about twice the cost of a standard order of fries, I got fries topped with melted cheese, onion bits, and a stripe of thousand island dressing-like substance. Purty good. It sits in the same area of the food world as chili cheese fries or nachos.
Someday soon, I’m going for a 4×2 – a cheeseburger with four patties and two slices of cheese.

Published in: on March 8, 2006 at 11:20 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://natstv.wordpress.com/2006/03/08/doin-it-animal-style/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Yowch, I’ve never heard of that one. Sounds tasty in that vein-clogging way.

    I’ve wondered if there are different takes on animal style for burgers because I’ve always known it to mean grilled onions instead of raw ones but recently learned of the mustard-coated definition. I’ve requested my burger animal style in the past and gotten (as far as I could tell, at least) grilled onions and not a mustard-cooked burger.

  2. Yes, this is the kind of occasional snack treat designed to keep me on Lipitor for the rest of my life.

    Mrs. Nat’s TV assures me that if I ever want to have a serving of fries without her stealing any, animal style is the way to go.


Leave a Reply

