Capped Cap

Ed Brubaker, writer of the recent highly-reported Captain America issue, name-checks me in an interview about his upcoming plans for the Captain America comic. While the concept of the quote is accurate (and I don’t think Ed meant it as a precise quote; the use of an opening quotation mark seems to be a transcription situation), Ed’s invocation of it is odd. He almost makes it sound like reading my statement inspired the direction he took.
That, of course, is not true. I didn’t make my statement until after the crucial issue in question had already hit the stands. And it’s not as though I’m some great recognized comics sage to be invoked; Brubaker is certainly higher on the comics totem pole than I. I wouldn’t even assume that he remembers we met (he and I were in the same APA, and there was a meal gathering at some con — but this would’ve been back in his alt comix days, at least a decade and a half back.) But hey, if he likes what I said, great!

Published in: on May 14, 2007 at 10:04 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://natstv.wordpress.com/2007/05/14/capped-cap/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

