How reading occurs

Used to be, I would just sit somewhere and read. Read, read, and read. Went through thousands of books, more than 10,000 comics, and so forth over the decades of my life. I still read… but married, daddying, running my business, and so forth, it is no longer so simple. It is not a mere matter of sitting down with a book and getting up a few hours later. Nor is it reading for a half hour whatever’s on the bedside before going to sleep.
Now? Well, let’s see. I just finished listening to the audiobook of Blink by Malcolm Gladwell, as I’m running through about a book a week during my daily gym sessions (weeks I have some long driving without the kid can accelerate that). In the upper bathroom is Stagger Lee, a graphic novel by Derek McCulloch and Shepherd Hendrix built around the classic folk song. Lower bathroom (more frequently used) has another graphic novel (well, a blend between a graphic novel and a collection of short stories; I’ll have to see whether it adds up to a whole), Tim Eldred’s Grease Monkey. And on the sofa is an uncorrected proof of an upcoming biography of Charles Schulz, which I managed to luxuriate a couple hours on this weekend, but with much more to go so that I can review it before reviewing it is pointless.
And this coming weekend will involve as much time as possible spent reading the new Harry Potter book… out loud, to my wife.
Of course, none of this counts the various Dr. Seuss, Sandra Boynton, and other pieces of kidlit that get read out loud to the wee one.

Published in: on July 16, 2007 at 12:53 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://natstv.wordpress.com/2007/07/16/how-reading-occurs/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

