A not-very-experimental loaf of meat

The supermarket has ground turkey on sale, $1.97 for 20 ounces… and I have (non-doublable, alas) coupons for $1 off each pack. So for under $2, I can get enough turkey for a meatloaf and have some left over to boot. As such, it’s meatloaf time.

Alas, we don’t have any fascinating or intriguing leftovers, and I didn’t score any interesting spices or sauces to experiment with. So this meatloaf will be:

  • Ground turkey
  • Two ground-up taco shells
  • Some ground up Crater Chips, which are pretty light and really aren’t likely to add much. I should try Fritos some time
  • One egg
  • One packet of taco seasoning, which Allison helped me shaken in (this is my excuse for the line of taco seasoning running down my pants leg and onto my shoe)
  • Raisin bran
  • Jasmine rice made just for this meatloaf — it feels like such a violation. Usually, leftover rice is an excuse for meatloafing.
  • Tomato-and-basil spaghetti sauce
  • Sweet corn
  • French-style green beans
  • Some old minced onion from a shaker that we probably had when we got married
  • Raisins
  • 14 ounces of soft tofu, bought with good intent for using it for something else, and then not

This is really quite a big pile of food — the addition of the tofu really added up. Overflows my meatloaf pan by a fair bit; I had to remind myself that meatloaf doesn’t rise, so this should not be a problem. The missuz and I both had the silly thought of turning the excess into meatloaf cupcakes. As I type this, I’ve put it into the oven for whatever-temperature-the-oven-gets-to- when-we-set-it-to-360, which is prob’ly about 400 degrees, and I’ll let it sit in there until it looks to be done and doesn’t look red when I cut into it.

Conclusion: reasonably tasty and edible, but not amazingly distinctive in any way. Took a long time to cook, and even then it was a bit of a guessing game (the tofu left it very moist, the spaghetti sauce made parts pink, so it was a little hard to tell from being underdone.)

Published in: on February 18, 2008 at 11:41 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://natstv.wordpress.com/2008/02/18/a-not-very-experimental-loaf-of-meat/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

