Bob Kane passes away again

Mark Evanier is reporting that Jim Mooney has passed away. Jim was a talented artist – not flashy, but had a style that brought a level of softness and humanity to characters that is rarely found in the work of others. He was the artist on Omega the Unknown, a book hit me at a vital time and meant a lot with me, and had a lot to do with my becoming a comics creator. (That book was co-written by Steve Gerber, who passed away a few weeks back; it makes me want to call the other co-writer, Mary Skrenes, and make sure she has a health check-up.)

Jim lived a long life, so this is not a tragedy – but even as someone who only briefly met the man, it’s worth taking a moment to remember his fine comics.

Published in: on March 31, 2008 at 2:56 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://natstv.wordpress.com/2008/03/31/bob-kane-passes-away-again/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Not being a comic book reader myself, I can’t really comment on the death of Mr. Kane, but I was wondering…

    What is the significance of the word “again” is in your post title? I figure there must be a story behind it, but honestly I have no clue. I’m just curious. I could Google, I suppose, but thought I’d just simply ask. Thanks.
    _______________________

    Also, since you may be too modest or self-effacing to mention it, I thought I’d just point out a mention today of a certain writer (initials N.G.) on a blog of significance, Jane Espenson’s “Jane In Progress.” I’m sure you’re aware of it, but just thought I’d point it out for other readers of yours. And since Ms. Espenson’s reference cites a certain available book and specifically advice for comics writers to freely rely on the vision of their artist partners, it seems to me to be very relevant to this post.

    Cool!

  2. Just thought I’d better add/clarify something…

    I’m a regular reader of both this blog and Ms. Espenson’s and was pleasantly surprised when her post for today turned up the familiar name. Don’t want other visitors here inadvertently thinking anyone around these parts put me up to the discovery and mention as that is absolutely not the case, I assure you. My notice was coincidental (though assured by my online browsing habits) and my mention of it here completely unsolicited.

    Kudos on the virtual citation, Nat!

  3. Uh, I meant Mr. Mooney. I see I wrote “Mr. Kane.” Had Kane on the brain from the post title. Also, I just realized the link was there for Mr. Evanier’s blog, so I clicked it. I’m now gathering from…

    “He was one of many artists whose work appeared on that strip (Batman) under the signature of Bob Kane, though he never actually worked for Kane.”

    …that Mr. Mooney was something of a “ghost artist” for Mr. Kane and I’m also assuming that Mr. Kane himself has preceded Mr. Mooney in exiting this world. As I said, I’m not a comic book reader, so I’m simply on unfamiliar footing when it comes to such history. I think I now have the gist of it and you can always fill in any significant or relevant details which I did not properly surmise.

    Sorry for any confusion on my part (and for this brief spurt of comments).

  4. Bob Kane, the credited creator of the Batman, did very little of the work that bears his name. Even from the start, he was working with writer Bill Finger on the series, and it was very soon that he was hiring other people to ghost his work. Some of the ghosts worked for him, some worked for DC, but all were required by DC’s agreement with Kane to work under Kane’s credit.
    There were many ghosts, generally a fair bit better comics artists than Kane. Some still survive, but others (like Kane himself) have passed on. Hence the headline.
    And thanks for noticing the Espenson review. Yes, it was good of her to mention a writer with the initials N.G., but hardly surprising; Neil Gaiman does get mentioned all over the place. I was kind of hoping for a little one-sentence mention in the blog, I’ll confess. Couldn’t even hope for what I got. Sweet, eh? I don’t use this blog for much self-promotion, but I have linked to it in some other, more comics-focused discussion areas where it may do some good.


Leave a Reply

