The One With The Potatoes

Last night’s meatloaf was largely free of unusual ingredients, and followed the recent tradition of making them in pie form, rather than as a loaf.

Primary ingredients:

  • 2 lbs of mechanically-separated turkey
  • leftover rice
  • a mixture of peas and mixed vegetables, which I suppose leaves you with mixed vegetables, but mixed vegetables with a different ratio of vegetables than what one supposes when one says “mixed vegetables”
  • a handful of raisins
  • some garlic bread seasoning

This was all mushed together and ladeled into two glass pie plates. It is here where the differentiation began:

  • Pie A: topped with leftover pizza sauce which had been gotten with an order of calzones, and some Queso Blanco Velveeta (because they were selling big bricks of it at the 99 Cents Only store)
  • Pie B: I made some mashed potatoes from a mix – bought Betty Crocker Homstyle Creamy Butter, which says on the front “Made with 100% real mashed potatoes With butter”.  Then when I went to make them, discovered that one of the ingredients it’s your job to add to the mix is… butter. I guess I should feel lucky that I didn’t have to add potatoes. Anyway, layered the mashed potatoes on the pie before baking.

Both were thrown into a 400 degree oven for until-they-were-quite-baked, 25 or 30 minutes or so. Also threw into the oven some frozen green beans and some frozen King’s Hawaiian rolls.

Results:

Quite, quite good, with everyone asking for seconds. A general preference for pie B, which we were referring to as shepherd’s pie, and to the best of my knowledge not illegitimately. The baked mash potatoes worked out quite well. Certainly my favorite, and even the person who said she didn’t like B then requested B for today’s lunch. Was surprised that the chunks of Velveeta didn’t spread out and integrate itself better into pie A; the lumps of Velveeta stayed in tight little puddles that came easily separated from the meat… but still good eating.

Published in: on November 6, 2011 at 8:52 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://natstv.wordpress.com/2011/11/06/the-one-with-the-potatoes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Good Evening Nat. I came across these meatloaf recipes tonight when I googled mechanically separated frozen tubes of turkey. You see I was recently discharged from an unexpected 10 day stay in the hospital. During this time the food spoiled in my fridge, I returned to find out I got laid off from my job and had very little cash on hand. What I had I needed for prescriptions. So I pulled my self out of bed today, went to my Dr’s and then proceeded to go and apply for food assistance to get me threw the next few weeks. Never in my life have I ever had to ask for assistance. It was always me volunteering at the food pantries and now I was visiting one. Well they were very kind and I got two bags that will help me out but the two tubes of the frozen “separated turkey” really threw me off. Never used it before. Only ground. But thanks to you I will be making Pie B this weekend. Lucky me has frozen veggies and one of those mash potato packages in my cupboard. I have a velveeta block in my fridge also that I don’t recall why I had bought it. Any ideas on what to make? I live alone so could I just use part and freeze the rest?

    I have bookmarked your site. I loved your humor as you described your cooking. Looking forward to reading more.

    Thanks Again. you made my night!

    -Kristan

    • Kristan!

      First off, I hope that life serves you up some better opportunities right soon.

      As for working with mechanically-separated turkey, I find it’s generally okay in terms of taste, but it lacks texture on its own. That’s why it’s good to have something like some leftover rice or chopped up leftover spaghetti to throw in there. If you look through all my meatloaf recipes (which have recently transformed to Shepherd’s Pie recipes, which is really just my meatloaf in a pie tin, with mashed potatoes on top), that’s largely what you’ll find: they’re interesting dumping grounds for leftovers and things we have laying around anyway (like extra sauce packets from fast food). As for the Velveeta, I have not tried it much with the meatloafs, and the ineffective results here may have had more to do with using a non-standard Velveeta. (When I have Velveeta, I usually make what I call “lavash thingies” – scramble up some eggs or egg substitute, take lavash cut into thirds and smear some refried beans, lay down a thin slab of Velveeta, then add some scrambled eggs and roll it up; generally I make a whole packet of lavash of these at once. Then I throw the one’s I’m eating now on the George Foreman grill, and put the rest in the fridge for grilling as needed. Generally, we get a dinner and then a few people’s lunch for a few days out of a batch. Anyway, that may be beyond you at the moment (lavash is not cheap bread), but one will not use up even a small brick of Velveeta doing that… and I’ve never been able to reseal the Velveeta so that the open end does not go dry and crusty in the fridge. I’ve not tried freezing it; I mean to at least put it in a zipper baggie next time.

      Beyond that, I have no real suggestions, sorry. But I’m sure you can find some good use for it.

      –Nat


Leave a Reply

