Smash thought

VERY MILDLY SPOILER; MOSTLY SPECULATIVE

I’m not loving Smash – nice music, some pretty actresses, but I just don’t care about the conflicts.

But I’ll lay down a prediction that I’ve had about the show since episode 1: that after struggling through some creative conflicts, they’ll come to realize that what the musical needs is for both actresses – the blonde (I am no good at names on this) playing Marilyn, and the dark-haired one playing Norma Jean. Show the inner conflicts in that very external way.

And something I doubt they will do, but which I would do if I were constructing that play: I’d have one actor play all three key male roles (Arthur Miller, Joe DiMaggio, JFK).

Published in: on March 7, 2012 at 10:52 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://natstv.wordpress.com/2012/03/07/smash-thought/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

